Democrats Leading State Legislature Competition | Elections – Tucson, Arizona

Tucson, Arizona 2020-11-04 06:04:00 –

In the Republican legislative district 11, which includes the Oro Valley and Marana, Pinal County constituencies, and the town of Maricopa, the Democratic Party is in control early on. Democratic challenger Joanna Mendoza had 51 percent of incumbent Senator Vince Leach.

Meanwhile, Democratic challenger Felipe Perez won 35% of the votes in a two-seat battle between Republican state legislators Brett Roberts and Mark Finchem.

Democrats were a strong Republican candidate in Legislative District 2, which runs from downtown Tucson through Green Valley and Sahuarita to Nogales along the Santa Cruz River. In the LD2 House of Commons election, Democratic Representative Daniel Hernandez received 38% of the votes, and Senator Andrea D’Alessandro, who is returning to the House of Representatives because he has reached his term limit in the Senate, received 37% of the votes. .. Republican challenger Deborah McEwan accounted for 24 percent of the vote. Meanwhile, Rosanna Gabalddon, a member of the state legislature, voted against Mark Workman during a campaign to move to the state Senate.

In Legislative District 9, which includes central Tucson, Catalina Foothills, and the Kazas Advis region, Democrats Pamela Powers Hanley and Randy Friese each received 38% of the votes against Republican challenger Brendan Lyons. During that time, State Senator Victoria Steel was not opposed.

In Legislative District 10, Democratic Rep. Domingo Degrazia (31%) and political newcomer Stephanie Stahl Hamilton (30%), Republican Michael Hicks (19%) and Mabel Gunmele (18%). Was leading. ). Meanwhile, state legislature Karsten Engel voted against Republican challenger Justine Wadsack.

In Legislative District 3 on the west, Democrats of Andres Cano, Alma Hernandez, and Sally Ann Gonzales did not oppose.

Source link

Back to top button