Denver

Denver landlords will have to license long-term rental buildings after city council passes new law – Denver, Colorado

Denver, Colorado 2021-05-04 14:25:14 –

Denver-Denver City Council unanimously passed Law that obliges landlords in the city to obtain a license For long-term rental properties for the next few years.

Sponsor Countermeasures License requirements and other aspects help keep the landlord at a higher standard, he said. Give lessee more protectionHowever, there have been protests from both groups over inspection fees and license fees, and some lessees are concerned that higher rents may pass them on to them.

Under the new law, real estate owners renting a building with two or more units must obtain a license from January 1, 2023. In addition, owners of single-family homes, such as rental homes, must obtain a license by January 1, 2024. There is also an early license opt-in starting January 1, 2022.

The new law also requires landlords to provide new tenants with a written copy of the lease within 70 days for leases longer than 30 days, providing the tenant with rights and resources. All of this will start on January 1st next year.

City Council President Stacy Gilmore said Approximately 54,000 rental properties In cities where owners may require a license under the new law.

“Denver has been in a housing crisis for decades and the pandemic has added more uncertainty to our residents,” Gilmour said in a statement. “This policy helps stabilize homes and neighborhoods by collecting basic real estate owner information and important rental data, shares resources widely with tenants, and educates and outreaches landlords and tenants. Can be strengthened. “

The landlord must first have a certified home inspector inspect the property.According to the city, the average price for a home is about $ 150, but according to the American Association of Home Inspectors. It costs $ 300 to $ 1,000.

For rentals with two or more units, 10% of the units should be inspected randomly, and for rentals with a single unit, inspection is required.

Once the inspection is complete, the landlord can apply for a license. The application fee will be $ 25 between January 1, 2022 and January 1, 2023. Landlords renting two or more units will pay an application fee of $ 50 after January 1, 2023. We will pay $ 25 for applications by 2024 and will increase to $ 50 by 2024.

The license fee is as follows. $ 50 per unit. $ 100 for a 2-10 unit building. $ 250 for a building with 11 to 50 units. $ 350 for a 51-250 unit building. $ 500 for buildings over 250 units. The license must be renewed every four years and requires a separate inspection before renewal.

Gilmour said the new law will collect information and data about the city’s real estate owners, rental properties, and how many lessors are in the city, and will be held liable if the landlord does not meet the city’s requirements. Said it would be useful.

If the landlord does not meet the requirements of the law, the license may be suspended, revoked, or sanctioned and may be fined up to $ 1,000 for each breach.

Eric Escudero, a spokesman for Denver’s Excise and Licenses division, said the division is considering this measure: “Achieving a high level of compliance and the city council’s policy objectives have passed the bill.”

“We are one of several institutions responsible for successfully implementing this law, and we have the time to educate the public and make the necessary adjustments to our institutions, which have not yet been decided. Thank you, “Escudero said in an email.



Denver landlords will have to license long-term rental buildings after city council passes new law Source link Denver landlords will have to license long-term rental buildings after city council passes new law

Back to top button