Colorado Springs, Colorado 2021-10-08 07:08:03 –
Denver (KDVR) — Colorado renters have new protections under the law that came into effect on October 1.
NS COVID-19 Eviction Defense Project I’ve summarized some of the highlights.
Lease and rent
- Landlord cannot raise rent more than once a year
- Tenants without a written rental agreement must be notified in writing 60 days in advance before the rent is raised.
- Tenants can recover financial damage if they are illegally locked out or banished by the landlord
- The landlord cannot charge late fees unless payment is delayed by at least 7 days.
- Late fees cannot exceed $ 50 per month, which is 5% of the monthly rent.
Eviction of peasants
- Residents can respond in court at any time on the response date, and the court must set up a trial after 7-10 days.
- Tenants can claim violations Colorado Residential Guarantee Act (For example, if the house has a pest epidemic, toxic mold, or essential appliances that do not work), the judge can reduce the amount of rent payable to the landlord.
- The lessor can pay the unpaid rent to stop the eviction of the peasant before the judge makes a decision
- The document permitting the sheriff to actually remove the tenant from the property does not arrive until 48 hours after the decision and the sheriff cannot execute it at least 10 days after the decision is entered.
Do you rent in Colorado? New renters rights took effect Oct. 1 Source link Do you rent in Colorado? New renters rights took effect Oct. 1