FEMA Provides Additional Assistance to Five More Kentucky Counties – Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky

Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky 2022-08-06 14:29:05 –

Frankfort, Kentucky (LEX 18) — Governor Beshear and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have authorized additional aid to five more counties in eastern Kentucky.

Kentuckians affected by devastating floods in Leslie, Magoffin, Martin, Oudsley, and Whitley counties can now apply for Personal Assistance and Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA).

Residents of Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Knott, Letcher, Perry and Pike counties are also eligible for this assistance, bringing the total number of counties eligible for benefits to 12.

Requests for Individual Assistance or DUA can be submitted online. Kentucky Career Center website or by calling 502-875-0442. The application deadline has been extended to September 6th.

“This is better news for residents of these counties so they can start applying for assistance right away.” We continue to expand our in-person services in affected counties to help us apply.”

The Kentucky Department of Unemployment Insurance (OUI) began providing direct assistance to Clay County residents Friday at the Oneida Elementary School Disaster Recovery Center at 435 Newfound Road in Oneida.

Additional in-person assistance will be available beginning Saturday, August 6 at the Disaster Recovery Center at Knott County Sportsplex, 450 Kenny Champion Loop #8765, Leburn, KY 41831.

DUA claims in these counties can be processed Monday through Saturday from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm and Sunday from 1:00 pm to 7:00 pm.

Across the region, more locations are said to be added soon.

The governor also said the state is working to provide “various types of assistance in one place” by setting up a disaster recovery center (DRC) location.

Source link

Back to top button