Five candidates enter City Council race on last day of filing period – Washington Daily News – Washington, District of Columbia

Washington, District of Columbia 2021-07-16 15:27:05 –

The five-seat competition for elections in the Washington City Council swelled to ten candidates on the last day of most local government submissions.

Incumbent William Pitt and Virginia Finaly of the City Council submitted their submissions on Friday, the final day of the 2021 submission period for all municipalities except Belhaven. Linda “Lou” Hodges, Roland Wyman and Gwendolyn Gilbert also participated in the city council race.

Lou Hodges is the wife of Mac Hodges, the late mayor of Washington, who died of COVID-19 complications last year.

Only one person submitted as a candidate for the Aurora Commission, which has two seats for the election. The Beaufort County Election Commission was set up to meet on Friday night to consider extending the Aurora submission deadline. The meeting ended after the printing deadline for this newspaper. Check thewashingtondailynews.com for updated information.

The Bell Haven submission period begins at noon on July 26th and ends at noon on August 13th. All other Beaufort County Municipal Mayor Races will not be contested until additional due to the possibility of an extended Aurora submission period. Aurora Mayor Cliff Williams, Chocowinity Mayor Jimmy Mobley, Pantego Mayor Stuart Rix, Washington Park Mayor Tom Richter, and Washington Mayor Donald Sadler do not oppose their respective reelection bids. ..

At the end of Friday’s submission period, there are only two races in the county. Two candidates from the Chocowinity Commission are running for three candidates, and five candidates from the Washington Council are competing for ten candidates.

Below is the final list of candidates submitted for the 2021 Local Elections. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk. Election seats are shown in parentheses next to each municipality.

Aurora (Mayor and two commissioner seats — waiting for extension)

  • Mayor: Cliff Williams *
  • Commissioner: Jeff Peed *

Bath (2 seats of commissioner)

  • Commissioners: Donna Wartman, Donald Shreeve

Chocowinity (mayor and 2 seats)

  • Mayor: Jimmy Mobley *
  • Commissioners: Gerald Brock, Billy Albritton *, Louise Farman *

Pantego (Mayor and 5 seats)

  • Mayor: Stuart Rix
  • Commissioners: Mart Benson *, Chuck Williams *, Chad Keech *, Reed Gelderman *, Matthew van Notwick *

Washington Park (Mayor and 5 Commissioner Seats)

  • Mayor: Tom Richter *
  • Commissioners: Jeff Peacock *, Belinda Cowell *, Patrick Nash *, Wade Dale *, Lee Bowen *

Washington (Mayor and 5 City Council Seats)

  • Mayor: Donald Sadler *
  • City Council: Richard Brooks *, Mike Renn * (appointed), Betsy Kane, AJ Congleton, Bobby Roberson, William Pitt, Linda “Lou” Hodges, Roland Wyman, Virgina Finnerty *, Gwendolyn Gilbert

Five candidates enter City Council race on last day of filing period – Washington Daily News Source link Five candidates enter City Council race on last day of filing period – Washington Daily News

Back to top button