Denver, Colorado 2021-09-21 22:06:32 –
State dollar-funded direct care workers working in home and community-based environments will earn a minimum of $ 15 per hour starting next year.
According to a news release by Governor Jared Polis, the Joint Budget Committee on Tuesday afternoon approved a 5-1 vote for a wage increase scheduled to take effect on January 1.
According to the announcement, the Police administration and the Colorado Department of Health Policy and Finance have promoted and endorsed the plan.
According to the release, wage increases will benefit workers who “provide most of the hands-on care to the elderly and disabled in the state, including personal care workers, housewives, and direct support professionals.”
The Medicaid rate increase needed to achieve this will initially be funded through the Federal United States Relief Planning Act Fund dedicated to home and community-based services.
“Every Colorado should be able to live and enjoy the Colorado we love. We are proud to take care of those who care for our loved ones,” Police released. I mentioned in. “Colorado is one of the fastest aging populations in the country, so being able to hire and retain caregivers is important now and in the coming years. In Colorado, I We value our workers, so we fully support the minimum wage of caregivers of $ 15. “
JBC approves $15 minimum wage for Colorado’s direct care workers. Source link JBC approves $15 minimum wage for Colorado’s direct care workers.