MLB suspends political donations after U.S. Capitol riot – Honolulu, Hawaii

Honolulu, Hawaii 2021-01-13 15:50:00 –

New York >> Major League Baseball joins a wave of big companies rethinking lobbying in Washington, stopping all political contributions following last week’s invasion of the US Capitol by a mob loyal to President Donald Trump It was.

“In light of an unprecedented event at the U.S. Capitol last week, MLB has suspended contributions from the Political Action Committee while waiting for a future review of its political contribution policy,” the league said on Wednesday’s Associated Press. Said in a statement to the Associated Press.

Many companies voted to overturn President Joe Biden’s victory over Trump after a riot by Trump supporters last week when Congress tried to prove the outcome of the presidential election to members of the House and Senate. Said to avoid donating. Others, like MLB, have completely postponed political contributions to both parties.

MLB is the first major professional sports league to change its lobbying strategy in the wake of a deadly parliamentary riot.

According to the Center for Responsive Politics, the Commissioner’s Office of the Major League Baseball Political Action Committee has donated $ 669,375 to Senate and House candidates since the 2016 election cycle, with 52.4% of that amount paid to Republican candidates. I was struck.

Among the successful lobbying activities was a bill in which minor league baseball players exempted only $ 5,500 per season from federal minimum wage laws and preempted a proceeding from three players four years ago. did. The Save America’s Pasttime Act was featured on page 1,967 of the $ 1.3 trillion spending bill.

Since the 2016 election cycle, MLB has contributed to two senators and nine representatives who oppose Biden’s proof of victory.

Senate Republicans are Ted Cruz (Texas) and Cindy Hydesmith (Mississippi), and House Republicans are Roger Williams (Texas), Kevin McCarthy (California), David Schweikert (Arkansas), Steve Cha. Bot (Oklahoma), Mark Wayne Marine (Oklahoma), Adrian Smith (Nebraska), Michael Burgess (Texas), Rick Crawford (Arkansas), Elise Stephanic (New York).

MLB suspends political donations after U.S. Capitol riot Source link MLB suspends political donations after U.S. Capitol riot

Back to top button