New Orleans

Safe Boating Week is something to take seriously | Sports – New Orleans, Louisiana

New Orleans, Louisiana 2022-05-21 18:00:00 –

Safe Boat Week started this weekend. It’s more meaningful than ever because the dynamics are working better than ever.

Check this out: The Water Sports Foundation has reported that about 830,000 new boat owners have been hit by water since the COVID pandemic began. It’s a lot of beginners to join us, and all this newness comes with mistakes. It goes with the territory.

Memorial Day Weekend gives a special warning just because this holiday weekend begins all kinds of fishing adventures. The long-awaited recreational red sea bream season begins on Friday, and the CCA’s summer state-wide tournament and angler Rodeo (STAR) begins on Saturday.

Safe boating courses have reduced the number of underwater accidents, but two things that have not hindered education are the need to wear life jackets and the boat owners drinking alcohol and driving boats. It is to force you to do it permanently.

“Safe Boat Week is a good time to make sure your boat and all your safety gear are ready,” said Major. Clay MarquezManager of the State Wildlife and Fisheries Safe Boating Law.

“We want people to have fun on the water, but we want to do it in a safe and responsible way. It wears a personal buoyancy device (life jacket) and hires a cool operator. It starts with that. “

Just last year, 26 boats were killed in our state, 19 of whom were not wearing life jackets. Ten people have died this year, and they are moving forward in a pace that repeats the number of 2021 at the same rate of life jackets.

Marquez said that boat owners would thoroughly inspect the boat, first make sure they had all the safety equipment they needed, and then check the boat, engine, outboard motors, wiring, and gas tanks. He said it was a good time. Filters and switches are working.

In addition, state executive agents and most parish sheriffs’ water patrol officers are on the water until Memorial Day. So don’t be surprised if you stop by for a boat safety check and a drunken check.

In the year before a pandemic, as many as 20 boat operators were quoted as having drunk driving this week. Please be aware that anyone convicted of DWI on the water is subject to the same penalties. Not to mention insurance, such as DWI street convictions, loss of driver’s license, boat privileges, and court fines.

In addition, the check may include an agent seeking a boat license. Yes, state law requires that anyone born after January 1, 1984 complete a boat education course from the National Association of Boat Law Administrators to operate a motorboat with an engine rated above 10 horsepower. I have. Therefore, if you are under 38 years old, you will need a certificate.

To schedule a free safe boating course, visit the following Wildlife and Fisheries websites: wlf.louisiana.gov/page/boater-education..

And you can find regulations on all boats and life jackets on the agency’s website: wlf.louisiana.gov Then click the Boat tab.

Just as you know, there are three new boat regulations.

The first is a fire extinguisher. On boats less than 26 feet, “From the 2017 model onwards, you can continue to use old, dated, or undated BI or B-II disposable fire extinguishers. If they become unavailable or are 12 years old from manufacture. When it is reached, it will need to be replaced with a new Class 5-B or higher fire extinguisher.

“Boats under 26 feet and beyond the 2018 model must be equipped with an unexpired 5-B, 10-B, or 20-B fire extinguisher.”

However, recreational boats up to 26 feet in length should only be extinguished if the boat has an outboard motor, fuel is in a portable fuel tank, and there is no area in the boat where fuel vapor can be generated. You don’t have to carry a vessel. You’re trapped. “

The best advice is to carry an approved fire extinguisher.

Next are the new requirements for engine cutoff switches.

Since April 1, last year, “Boat operators have either a helm or outboard strap or a wireless engine cutoff switch (ECOS) on certain vessels less than 26 feet when traveling by plane or at speeds above displacement. Must be used. “

The description is that the boat driver has a rudder (center console boat) or outboard motor or wireless cutoff switch, or a working engine cutoff device attached to a boat manufactured after January 2020. It means that there is.

Exceptions are “when the ship’s main helm is in a sealed cabin, or when the ship is not operating at airplane or displacement speed”, such as slow fishing or docking, or the boat’s motor (engine). If the amount of production is small, it includes static thrust of 115 pounds or more, or the size of an engine of about 2 horsepower.

The third rule change will allow the boat to carry an electronic visual distress signal for about $ 100 and will require a new battery. The Coast Guard has changed regulations to resolve the issue of disposing of expired fireworks flares. These new pain signaling devices use a combination of white or orange red / cyan LED lights and infrared light for night vision rescuers. Owners of daytime distress ships can continue to use the orange distress flag to avoid carrying flares.

You need this

During the recreational red sea bream season, which begins on Friday, fishermen are required to obtain a free recreational offshore landing permit to dock red sea bream and other coral reefs and offshore seeds.

To own these species, you need a basic seawater fishing license in state waters. To get the ROLP, please visit the LDWF website. wlf.louisiana.gov..



Safe Boating Week is something to take seriously | Sports Source link Safe Boating Week is something to take seriously | Sports

Back to top button