Texarkana, Texas – Biology professor Mark Storey receives "Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence" at Texarkana College

Texarkana, Texas 2022-05-13 16:22:00 –

The Texarkana University Undergraduate Association nominated an associate professor of biology as a professor of excellence in 2022 at the Texarkana University Spring Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 11, 2022.

The endowed course program began in 2000 and invited 25 members.
Mr. Story said he has always respected faculty members selected from his peers for this honor for many years.
“It’s unbelievable to think that the winner of the Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence for 30 years at Texarkana University is my mentor and I’m considered part of this group,” Storey said. increase.
He added: “I learned a lot from them and wanted to live up to the expectations of two iconic men who hired me many years ago, former TC presidents Dr. Carl (Cheesie) Nelson and Dr. Royce Granberry. Former Division Chair. Maybe this honor I received shows that I was okay! “
The award nomination process is very extensive and peer-led. Each recommendation must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the program’s dean and three letters from a colleague.
The nomination letter states that the person must be a good educator worthy of special evaluation.
One colleague said: He has a sense of kindness, kindness, and reason that attracts people to him. He makes our university a better place on so many levels. “
Another colleague said: “If you have one word to describe Mark, it’s your personality. You have to look far to find someone with a better personality. He’s honest, class, student , Always trying to do the right thing for Texarkana University. “
Finally, a colleague and former student said: It’s easy to see that he’s really passionate about science, he’s knowledgeable, and he loves what he’s doing. In addition, he is always there to care for, help and support his students. “
Associate Professor Storey has worked in several areas, including TC Faculty Association, Achieveing ​​the Dream, distance learning, club sponsorship, and departmental contact for dual credit courses. Doug Saffel, Chairman of the 2021-22 Faculty Association, has a cash honor of $ 1,000 and a professional training fee of $ 500.
Saffel commented on the number of students and peers that Story has influenced over the years. “Needless to say, his influence at TC is praised and respected by everyone who knows him,” Saffel said.
“One of his most amazing qualities is that while he is a good teacher, he continues to be a good student in his field and participates in ongoing research. He is especially of the bird. A great photographer, he contributes to social media content that advances science and nature. “
Storey is currently focused on teaching integrated biology course sequences to both science and non-science majors. Mr. Story said he is proud to have achieved his students’ professional and personal goals.
“Through my career, the share of talented students has been successfully enrolled in specialized programs in veterinary medicine, medicine, pharmacies, physiotherapy, science education, and nursing programs. I have each of them. I’m very proud of it, “said the story.
“But personally, the most satisfying thing is that I succeeded in working with an unprepared and at-risk student who struggles to achieve C in one of my courses. “I did,” he added. Despite the many mistakes and disappointments of the past, they convince them that they can learn and understand the field of science. It’s not good for me to see them walking on stage at the graduation ceremony and together know that we have changed not only their lives but also the lives of their families! “
The annual award is presented at the university’s spring semester awards ceremony. Participating in the story at the award ceremony was Nancy Lin, the wife of a family nurse who graduated from TC’s associate degree nursing program in 1990.
Mark and Nancy Lin had three grown-up children, James, Thomas, and Sara, all of whom participated in the TC. In addition, the Teaching Excellence donated chair was awarded to some of Texarkana’s most devoted faculty members.
The previous winners are: RoyceGranberry, 2000-01; Candy Stephen Smith, 2000-01 ;; Mike L. Buttram, 2001-02; Teresa McDonald, 2001-02; Delbert Dowdy, 2002-03; Catherine Howard, 2002-03; Jamie Ashby, 2004-05; Herman Barnett, 2005-06; Patricia Morgan, 2005-06; Tom Elder, 2006-07; Jerry Hutchison, 2007-08; Mary Scott (Good), 2008-09; Mary Ellen Young, 2009-10 Jerry Voss, 2010-11; Dianna Kinsey, 2011-12; Robert Jones, 2012-13; Kimberly Penny, 2013-14; Diane Henline 2014-15; Mark and Revzy, 2015-16; Robert “Bob” Laird, 2016-17; Pamela Owney, 2017-18; Beverly Row, 2018-19; Doug Saffel, 2019-20; and Ronda Dozier, 2020-21.

Biology professor Mark Storey receives "Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence" at Texarkana College Source link Biology professor Mark Storey receives "Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence" at Texarkana College

Back to top button